A Word from the Word

Photo by Na Inho on Unsplash

Sometimes, when the Lord gives me a simple word, He just wants me to savor it for an extended period of time. As I do that, the word becomes precious, something I won’t easily forget. He builds more understanding of its meaning into my heart as I continue thinking about it. That’s the way it has been for a couple of months with Hebrews 12:2, “Looking to Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith….” It’s about keeping our eyes fixed steadfastly on Him, no matter what’s going on around us.

For a few weeks now, I have been in quite an intense time of intercession over a particular matter. I’m glad the Lord highlighted this part of Hebrews 12:2 before the crisis that I’m lifting heavenward began to unfold. As many of you know, when we are in the middle of serious intercession we can get weighed down in our emotions. That’s when “looking to Jesus” / “fixing our eyes on Jesus” is most critical.

Shortly after first hearing the message of Hebrews 12:2, the Lord also highlighted Psalm 109:4 to me: “For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself to prayer.(Some translations say “but I am in prayer.”). This goes hand in hand with fixing our eyes on Him. The best solution to a problem is to set aside our own thoughts, arguments, or fix-it plans and just go to prayer about it. We deliberately take it to the Lord and expect in faith that He will work it out as we persevere in interceding.

There’s one more thing we should do to keep our hearts peaceful in the middle of troubling situations or heavy prayer assignments. Psalm 119:78 reveals it: “Let the proud be ashamed; for they dealt perversely with me without a cause: but I will meditate in Your precepts.We keep God’s Word before our mind’s eye — what it speaks of His nature; verses promising answers to prayer; His principles of purity, truth, goodness; His promise of a glorious future with Him forever.

If you don’t know where to start, try reading, listening to, and thinking on particularly uplifting sections of the Bible, such as the Psalms, the Beatitudes in Matthew 5, and some of the smaller New Testament epistles.

If we tie these three concepts together and consciously practice them

  • Keeping our gaze upon Jesus,
  • Staying in an attitude of prayer,
  • Continually reminding ourselves of what His Word says,

we will live in a place of joy and peace we could not possibly maintain otherwise. We will think the thoughts of God. And, our intercessory prayers will be powerful without making a wreck of us in the process.

___________________________________

Published by

Lee Ann Rubsam

Lee Ann is an author, publisher, and teacher specializing in character building and prayer resources. Her down-to-earth books and articles provide practical, applicable tools to help Christians grow.

11 thoughts on “A Word from the Word”

  1. Amen!!

    We spent hours last night doing just that and today we will do the same. God has promised us the victory and we will see it for my wife, Rebecca!!

    Like

  2. Prophetic words again for me! Seems I needed to re-read your advice and wisdom for the circumstances which unfolded and continue to unfold! Blessings ! Costa

    Like

    1. Hi Marshall,
      I think it would depend on what else was seen or was going on in the vision. What I would do, if I had a vision of that, is just keep asking the Lord what it means until He responds. Sometimes it takes a while for understanding to come.
      Proverbs 25:2 says, “It is the glory of God to conceal a thing: but the honor of kings is to search out a matter.” He delights in parables and puzzles so that we will come to Him to ask for His help in searching for the answer.
      Belated merry Christmas and a blessed new year to you and yours!
      Lee Ann

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.