Personal Spiritual Warfare (Part 5) — Long-Term Assault

After reading my last post, you may have thought, “She makes it sound like ending the enemy’s assault is so simple, but I’ve tried rebuking the enemy over and over, using Jesus’ name and pleading His blood, and I’m still struggling!”

Overcoming spiritual attack on our minds can be simple, but it isn’t always. You don’t need to feel like a failure if the struggle continues long-term. It isn’t necessarily your fault, and you are not alone.

Resisting the enemy and causing him to flee is not a mere formula. Sometimes, he keeps on insisting on having his way, especially when the stakes are highest (and we don’t always see clearly when that is). During such times, the battle can be severe and extended. It is absolutely essential that we continue to stand our ground and not surrender.

Some years ago, I went through a period of many months when the assault on my mind was incessant and exhausting. Every day, every few minutes, I had to deal with another thought, all of which had their roots in the fear of man.

My head swirled. I corrected one thought, only to have another follow on its heels. It was hard to focus on prayer, although I persevered. The torment was extreme. I cried out to the Lord to help me. I countered with Scripture. I commanded the enemy to leave. But pretty soon the thoughts were back again.

Hardly anybody outside my family knew this was going on — because I was afraid people would decide I was unstable if they knew. One day, a highly prophetic lady who knew nothing of my struggle shared a word she had received from the Lord for me. She spoke many blessings, but what caught my attention the most was that she said the enemy was attacking my thoughts intensely because he was trying to destroy my destiny. She assured me that the assault would come to an end, and my mind would be filled with peace.

Only the Holy Spirit could have given her this information. It took several months more before I saw the fulfillment of what she had shared with me. In the meantime I often cried out in desperation, “Lord, WHEN is it going to end? You said it would!” And it did end – suddenly. There was no special overcoming prayer moment which brought it about. It just stopped. The peace and quiet were wonderful beyond belief!

Since that time, I have talked with others who have been through the same thing. The assault they experienced was similar — but they got through it, just like I did. You can, too. Sometimes it is a huge comfort to know that someone else has been there before you and has made it to the other side.

So, what is going on when such extreme attack comes upon us? In my case, I had initially cooperated with the enemy by not recognizing the deception in the thoughts which had been injected. My own insecurities and the fear of man which I had unwittingly harbored fed the blaze until it got out of control. When I finally realized that I had let my thoughts go on at length in wrong places, I began the process back with repentance and greater vigilance to “bring into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ” (2 Corinthians 10:5). The Holy Spirit was so kind and gracious during that time. He often intercepted the wrong thoughts by interrupting with His truth. And He comforted me in the midst of it all.

I asked the Lord why the torment went on and on. He responded by telling me He was refining me in the process. He also said He was allowing it so that I would grow strong for battle, as in Psalm 18:34: “He teaches my hands to war, so that a bow of steel is broken by my arms.”

Another factor we could unknowingly be dealing with is the level from which the spiritual attack is coming. Ephesians 6:12 tells us, “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” “Principalities, powers, rulers of darkness, and spiritual wickedness in high places” are beings which are high up in the command hierarchy of the spirit realm. Their involvement could have bearing on the intensity and length of the conflict.

What can you do to make sure you come through a long season of warfare against your mind successfully?

  • Entrust yourself into God’s hands. James 4:7 instructs us, “Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” We are assured that if we keep ourselves submitted to the Lord and continue to resist the devil, eventually he will flee.
  • Decide upfront not to quit. Ephesians 6:13 exhorts us, “Wherefore, take unto you the whole armor of God, so that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.” Perseverance wins the battle.
  • Be diligent to use the Word of God to repulse the enemy. Ephesians 6:17 says to “Take … the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.” When we’re in the midst of a heated thought battle, pulling out the Word and wielding it may seem like extra work, but it is absolutely essential. Jesus, while being tempted by the devil in the wilderness (Matthew 4:1-11), consistently used the Word to deflect the assault: “It is written.”
  • Worship your way through. That’s what Paul and Silas did when they were beaten and thrown into prison. The result? The doors were opened; their bands were loosed (Acts 16:25, 26).
  • If you fail, ask the Lord to help you get up and keep going. Psalm 37:24 says of the righteous person, “Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the LORD upholds him with his hand.”

If you persevere, you will win. The key is in not quitting.

In the final two posts of this series, I will share some additional practical steps we can take to win our personal spiritual warfare.

Previous: Part 4 — Discerning the Source of Thoughts
Next: Part 6 — Keys for Overcoming

The Intercessor Manual

 

The Intercessor Manual, by Lee Ann Rubsam

 

 

Your Intercession Questions Answered

 

Your Intercession Questions Answered, by Lee Ann Rubsam

6 responses to “Personal Spiritual Warfare (Part 5) — Long-Term Assault

  1. Thank you for your articles Lee Ann. I experienced this kind of attack for years but was actually deceived into believing that they were my own thoughts. It became a stronghold. A year ago I battled so intensely for a week – it was when I realized that it was demonic. I was exhausted and could not go a minute without the incessant thoughts similar to what you described – fear of man, inferiority, no one liked me or respected me, etc. I asked the Lord for help and sensed He wanted me to receive prayer from a certain woman in my church. I did and she rebuked a tormenting spirit, bound it and I was free! I still have to be on guard because it tries to attack me still. I believe it is because my thought life was undisciplined and I had allowed it – albeit unknowingly and in ignorance- to affect my thoughts for YEARS. I had always felt inferior even tho I knew the Lord had gifted me in areas and given me spiritual insights, etc.. My whole adult life was lived under that. I found the opening from childhood and forgave and repented of my unbelief in what The Word says about my redemption. I think your article and the sharing of your experience will help many people. Thanks again. Blessings

    Like

    • Thank you so much for sharing your experience, Dee. I’m sure your testimony of coming through it, and how you needed to address it in order to overcome, will encourage others. Your statement, “I still have to be on guard because it tries to attack me still,” is a reality we should all be aware of, too. The enemy does try to take back territory in our lives, if we are not vigilant. But the Lord stands with us to help us keep free.

      Blessings, Lee Ann

      Like

  2. Juliet Hughes

    Blessings intercessor of The Most High God. I really need this emali at this time and season,Thank You. Praise ABBA Father for servant like you in Jesus name Amen. 👂👀👂🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    Like

  3. The word the woman gave you is beautiful. God is so kind.

    I had a similar season a few years ago, but it came in a slightly different way. It was actually right after I experienced deliverance of something, and I wondered how this was happening on the heels of such powerful intervention of God.

    A friend of mine from Africa used this analogy: “In Africa, we don’t buy our chicken at Wal-Mart in a nice package. We slaughter them ourselves. When you chop the head off the chicken, the body starts flapping all around more than it did when the chicken was alive. The enemy can do the same thing when he’s cut off from legal access to your life. He doesn’t always give up and go away after years or generations of torment. Sometimes he makes a bigger ruckus.”

    At that time, the Lord told me to prophesy over my day. My husband would pray and anoint me before he left for work in the mornings. I had to fight through every minute it seemed. But gradually and eventually, the victory was mine through Christ.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your story, Emily. That is an interesting analogy your African friend shared. I had never thought of it that way. Again, your testimony of coming through it into victory will encourage many. ~ Lee Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

