Personal Spiritual Warfare — Intro

We who are intercessors often tend to think of spiritual warfare as an external thing, where we achieve prayer victories for others. We war on behalf of individuals, cities, states, people groups, our nation, and even international situations. But what we often fail to understand or deal with is personal spiritual warfare.

The enemy initiates frequent (even daily) assaults against us in his attempt to render us incapable of carrying out our James 5:16 mandate, “…The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.” Most of these attacks do not announce themselves with drumroll and trumpet fanfare. They are subtle, meant to distract us or steal our peace and joy. And if we aren’t paying attention, we can easily miss what is really going on.

The greatest spiritual warfare any of us will ever encounter is what rages within our own minds and emotions. We must learn to overcome in this personal arena, for, if we neglect to fight our battles there, we will eventually be rendered ineffective in intercessory prayer as well. The good news is, once we are conscious of the war within and are actively committed to engaging in it, we are already on the road toward winning it.

Perhaps a good place to start is by making sure we’re ready to go to battle. Soldiers go through extensive training and preparation before entering the battlefield. Doing a spiritual health checklist can be part of our preparation. Ask yourself these questions:

  • Do I invest time in simply being with Jesus, or does all my prayer life revolve around intercession?
  • Do I absorb and meditate on portions of the Bible daily?
  • How is my thought life? How much does it look like Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true … honest … just … pure … lovely … of good report, if there is any virtue, and if there is any praise, think on these things”?
  • Am I holding offense and bitterness in my heart toward anyone?
  • How do my thoughts and words line up with 1 Corinthians 13:1-7 (the “love chapter”) on a regular basis?
  • Do I carefully monitor what I allow into my inner being through my eye- and ear-gates?

In the coming series, we will examine our personal spiritual warfare task in detail, using Scripture as our anchor. I will also share some practical tips I have discovered through the years for how to gain the victory. As we learn to effectively deal with our own inner battles, we become stronger and more able to take ground for the kingdom of God.

Next: Part 2 — Where Did That Thought Come From?Β 

Your Intercession Questions Answered, by Lee Ann Rubsam

 

Your Intercession Questions Answered

6 responses to “Personal Spiritual Warfare — Intro

  1. Wow!!!!!! My Lord πŸ‘‚πŸ‘€πŸ‘‚It has to be God our ABBA Father why ? because only His Holy Spirit knows what I’m dealing with in this season I’m so grateful thankful for all your material and info sent to me But this one is right on target just on time i thank Jesus for you servant, General of The Most High God continue to equip His Church His Body in Jesus name Christ Amen.πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    Like

  2. Lee Ann,
    Christ is risen!
    You are right on! Orthodox Christians have a term for this warfare. “Logismoi”.
    “Logismoi, (pronounced, log-is-mee) are thoughts and thought/images that come to us to lead us away from Christ. ”
    Blessings!
    Costa

    Like

  3. I had a dream 2 weeks ago, that I was standing near our gate at the garage and witnessing sort of an OPEN PORTAL of spirits and some people performing rituals of body sacrifice. I was angered and boldy shouted “Greater is HE that is in ME than HE that is in the world.” And all of a sudden it was gone and I woke up.

    What does this dream mean?

    Like

    • Hi Mel.

      No doubt you are familiar with 1 John 4:4, “You are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is He Who is in you, than he who is in the world.” The Spirit of God dwells within us who are believers, and by the Spirit, the Father and Son also dwell within us (John 14:16 & 23). Colossians 1:27 speaks of “Christ in you, the hope of glory.” He who is in the world is the devil, “the god of this world” (2 Corinthians 4:4).

      The Lord is opening your eyes to what is going on in the spirit realm around you, and He is reminding you that He has given you authority over all the power of the devil (look up Luke 10:19 for this wonderful promise). Nothing can hurt you and yours, as you use your God-given authority. So, use your authority in the name of Jesus and in declaring the blood of Jesus over yourself and your household.

      I would recommend asking the Lord whether He is showing you a general spiritual truth or whether He is addressing a warfare specific to your life. Ask Him whether this dream is about some specific warfare coming against you and your family. Are there literally some satanic rituals being performed near your property? It would be important to know that from the Lord, so that you can deal with that directly through prayer and taking authority over it, so that it stops. You can make a simple declaration in the meantime, such as, “I break any witchcraft or curses coming against me, my family, and my property in Jesus’ name. I also cancel and destroy any plans of the enemy against us in Jesus’ name. I plead Jesus’ blood as our covering.” (But I would still ask the Lord to give me more specific revelation and direction how to pray, too.)

      I hope that helps!

      Blessings, Lee Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

