Priorities for 2016

As one year comes to an end and another begins, my usual habit is to ask God what He would like to say about what lies ahead. Sometimes I hear things for the Body of Christ as a whole, but this year, I mostly heard the Lord speak about priorities I need to have in my relationship with Him. Even though I am filing these in my “personal” cabinet, I thought I would share them with you, just in case what I have been hearing might resonate with you or be confirmation to solidify what you are already hearing Him speak.

First of all, this is The Year of Invitation. (Actually, I do think this one is for the whole body of believers, not just me.) God has left His door open, and He’s saying, “Come in. I am waiting for you.” I am reminded of Revelation 4:1, which is an invitation into His Presence, into seeing from His perspective: “After this I looked, and, behold, a door was opened in heaven: and the first voice which I heard was as a trumpet talking with me, which said, ‘Come up here, and I will show you things which must be hereafter.'”

I am asking the Lord to help me become more focused on Him — less wandering in my thoughts during prayer, less distraction, more discipline in keeping my thoughts attuned to Him. I want more than ever to make a concerted effort to wait quietly upon Him and to ask, “What is on Your mind, Lord?” (Staying focused is really hard for me. My mind is prone to flitting about, hither and yon. The Flight of the Bumblebee could easily be my theme music, so getting where I want to be in having a quiet mind and heart is going to take a lot of grace and dependence on Him!)

I have always taken comfort that my life is transparent to the Lord. I am so glad that He knows it all, that nothing about me is hidden from Him. That way, He can bring things to my attention which need to go. Strongholds (mindsets not in alignment with His truth) can come down, and I can become more like Jesus. This is the desire of my heart — to be conformed to Jesus’ image, as He is the express image of the Father. So, the removal of even more strongholds is a goal for this year.

Praying the Scriptures is something He wants me to make more of an effort to do. When we are fairly familiar with the Word, it is easy to pray the concepts we know are in the Bible, without actually opening it to particular verses and then speaking them directly as prayer. I feel the Lord wants me to grow in wielding specific verses in petitioning and prophetic declarations over my life and the lives of my loved ones (or the nation, or world events, or whatever the Spirit is prompting me to pray into), so I’ve been more deliberate about this. The result so far is delightful! The glorious Presence of God seems to fall like a blanket about me as I launch my prayers with the Word, and the Spirit leads me along a path from one verse to the next in a way beyond what I could think up on my own.

The Lord has been speaking to me for some time not to look at the events taking place around me, but to look at Him. Colossians 3:1-4 has been huge for me:

If you, then, are risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sits on the right hand of God. Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth. For you are dead, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, Who is our life, shall appear, then shall you also appear with Him in glory.

I think on those verses a lot. They help me to endure in peace, and to keep what’s happening around me in the right perspective.

The Lord surprised me by telling me several times that there are good things yet ahead in the days to come. It surprised me because our world seems to be unraveling at such great speed, and so many Christian leaders are constantly talking about the extreme seriousness and increasing darkness of our times. Although I don’t understand what God means by “good things yet to come,” I believe what He says. I suspect He has a few things we haven’t even thought of in store, which could turn everything around, upside down — or better yet, right-side up. We’ll just have to see how that unfolds. But these days, I’m looking for a Romans 8:28 ending for all sorts of seemingly bad happenings: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose. Perhaps the key will be in what perspective we hold to — having eyes to see what others can’t.

Quite a few prophets have been saying that this will be a year of radical change for many of us.  One person put it that if last year was like a new chapter, this year will be a whole new book. That resonates with me. Several of my dear ones are already on the verge of that kind of extreme shift taking place in their lives in a very good way.

Those are my thoughts as we enter the new year. What has God been speaking to you? I’d love to hear about it!

 

6 responses to “Priorities for 2016

  1. Thanks for sharing this message of encouragement. I love the exhortation from Colossians 3 — it’s one of my favorite passages. I personally feel we are in a new season (my husband and I) and are already feeling God move us through some major life changes . . . we are still in the beginning stages of that but eager to see the full development. Blessings!

    Like

  2. Lee Ann,
    When we pray the Word of God, the scriptures, do we need to quote the chapter, verse, etc.? Or can we just bring the words that we have read or learned to God’s attention?
    As for seasons of change, this is also happening in my personal and family life. The Lord had to use a chain saw on my dead branches last month. I welcomed the pruning since the branches were not producing the proper fruit! Yes, the Lord is good and his mercy endures forever!
    Continued blessings in the coming year!
    Costa

    Like

    • Hi Costa,

      I don’t think it is necessary to quote chapter and verse. What I have been doing is opening to the particular spot in the Bible, and praying it aloud back to the Lord. Even if I have the verse memorized, right now it seems to be more powerful for me if I open to it and pray it out right from the page.

      Pruning is painful, and I never like going through it, but it is so necessary. May the Lord truly bring you into a fruitful season for Him in 2016!

      — Lee Ann

      Like

  3. Jonathan Asael hdz

    si el desea que nos acerquemos y pasemos mas tiempo en su presencia ,El quiere manifestarse y glorificarse en nuestras vidas ,prepararnos para lo que esta por venir, que en realidad es terrorífico, pero El tiene todo bajo su dominio y control .,es la manifestación gloriosa de su presencia y derrotar y poner bajo sus pies al dragon ,y todo reino de maldad que se a levantado en su contra y en contra de sus hijos. (cuídate de los árabes,es el séptimo y el octavo imperio de la bestia.,islam y turquia.) mucha gente perseguida, torturada y matada (decapitada) y en tribulación y muchos de nosotros seguimos en nuestros pensamientos egoístas como si todo se tratara de nosotros y no es asi se trata de establecer un reino y en ese reino yahuwshua es el rey y nosotros con el .,nos va a dar de su gloria seremos manifestados como El es.,esa es nuestra esperanza .son muchas cosas mejores por venir revelaciones de su persona, de su palabra, y de su gran poder y de su presencia (ruach qodesh) manifestada en toda plenitud sobre nosotros y sobre toda la tierra. discernimiento , sabiduría ,ciencia, consolacion y poder y amor por cada uno de nosotros.la consumación de su plan ,es maravilloso y admirable el cumplimiento de sus profecías, yo lo amo , amo su plan de salvación como se dio a si mismo en el cuerpo de su hijo. la promesa de darnos también de ruach,es como si compartiera su santidad y divinidad con todos nosotros, que aunque en este vaso de barro nos movemos ,pensamos y somos., le agradecemos su amor y misericordia y su infinita bondad ., te deseo que seas llena de toda la plenitud de su Espiritu, que el Padre haga respandecer su rostro sobre ti y tu nombre este escrito en el libro de la vida. seria maravilloso,y es nuestra esperanza y deseo para todo ser humano, el llegar a conocerlo y poder darte cuenta que es el único y mas grande ELOAH que existe. .lleguen a ti todas las bendiciones que esperas y para quienes tu ames. AMEIN. SI VEN ADON YESHUA.

    Enviado desde Correo de Windows

    De: Out of the Fire
    Enviado el: ‎viernes‎, ‎15‎ de ‎enero‎ de ‎2016 ‎06‎:‎15‎ ‎p. m.
    Para: Jony Asael hdz

    Lee Ann Rubsam posted: “As one year comes to an end and another begins, my usual habit is to ask God what He would like to say about what lies ahead. Sometimes I hear things for the Body of Christ as a whole, but this year, I mostly heard the Lord speak about priorities I need t”

    Like

Leave a Reply

