Miscellaneous and Catching-Up Things

This post is a bit of a hodgepodge:

My book-in-progress: There is always at least one (at present I’ve got four started, plus notes for more). The one most likely to be completed first is called Your Intercession Questions Answered. In it, I define prayer warrior terminology and explain experiences common to intercessors (perhaps some not-so-common, but still quite real). I want to make sure I don’t miss anything major. If you have a question which you think should be added, would you be so kind as to give me your feedback?  The best way to do that is to comment on our ongoing Intercession/Prophecy Questions and Answers post here at my blog. I will try to answer your question there, whether it gets used in the book or not. Thanks for your help!

**************

What I’m hearing for 2015: Thus far, I don’t have anything extremely specific or guaranteed to give you goose bumps (sorry). But here’s what I have for the Church at large:

“It’s not going to be an easy year. It will be a time of great fearfulness. But My children will be taken care of. There is no reason to be afraid, for I am with you. My right hand will sustain you.

“Don’t be afraid for the terror by night, nor for the arrow that flies by day, nor for the pestilence that walks in darkness, nor for the destruction that wastes at noonday.”  (I heard this in the inner voice, but yes, it is quoting Psalm 91:5. 6.)

My commentary: The focus is on trusting the Lord — not on bad things coming. Those of us who stay close to the Lord’s heart don’t need to indulge in the “great fearfulness.” Many prophetic people are hearing that it is going to be a great year for the Church, where we come into spiritual inheritances and divine suddenlies. Charles Dickens started his book,  A Tale of Two Cities, with the words, “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,” and that is how it works with the Kingdom of Heaven and the kingdoms of this world as well. We are meant to be overcomers, not fearful people. Fear is for those who have no hope in Christ.

The Lord impressed upon me to read and meditate on Psalm 34, so I’ve been doing that nearly daily and will very likely continue to do so for weeks to come. It is a wonderful way to build confidence in God’s care for us.

**************

Ebola update: Last fall, I wrote about a dream I had about Ebola coming to the U. S. I also did a follow-up post immediately after the man with Ebola came to Dallas. I am so delighted with the answers that we have seen since then.

Some may say that Ebola was a false alarm for most of the world. Well, no, intercession is meant to stem the tide of trouble behind the scenes before things become dramatic issues. (Perhaps the enormous loss of life in West Africa could have been stopped sooner if more of us had been praying into it sooner.)

In our local prayer gathering, we prayed that Ebola would not spread here in the U. S. (and other parts of the world). Hardly any of those who came in very close contact with people infected with the disease got sick. We prayed for the Dallas nurses to recover, and they did. We prayed for vaccines and serums to be developed to stem the tide of Ebola. Those are coming into being. We prayed for the Church in the affected countries in West Africa to rise up and use their prayer authority to shut down Ebola in their homelands, and they did just that, with nation-wide prayer and fasting.

A friend of ours is currently working on the medical front lines in the fight against Ebola in Liberia. His report is that there are not many cases coming in anymore. It is definitely on the wane.

I know there were many intercessors around the world who prayed much into this terrible disease. Our collective prayers are being answered. We have much to thank the Lord for!

**************

Lastly, I was very inspired by the following message on prayer, given recently by Wes Hall, from the International House of Prayer in Kansas City (IHOP-KC). I hope you can take the time to listen to it.

Wes Hall — OneThing 2014

(Give it a few seconds, if it comes up as “no results” at first. It will open up.)

Leave a Reply

