Speaking as the Oracles of God (Part 5)

LeeAnnRubsam.com

The Blessing of Positive Words

“If any man speak, let him speak as the oracles of God ….” (KJV)
“If anyone speaks, let it be as it were the very words of God….” (HNV)
–-   1 Peter 4:11 

Not every positive word is a blessing.  It is possible to speak from our human desire to be kind or to please others, and end up releasing empty words that sound good, but are not truly life-giving. Such words are often only flatteries and can produce false hopes or wrong direction in the lives of those we are speaking to.

A good example is found in 1 Kings 22.  In this chapter, we have the story of wicked King Ahab, who wanted a prophetic blessing on the direction he had already chosen to go.  So he listened to the flattering words of false prophets, who were mainly concerned with pleasing the king and making him feel good.  Micaiah, a true prophet of the Lord, was pressured by the king’s messenger to speak likewise: “… Listen now, the words of the prophets declare good to the king as with one mouth.  Let your word … be like the word of one of them, and speak that which is good” (1 Kings 22:13).  Micaiah refused to compromise, but Ahab listened to what he wanted to hear, and ended up dead as a result.

A positive word spoken in the inspiration and anointing of the Holy Spirit, on the other hand, carries immense weight and power in the lives of those we are speaking into.  I’d like to give a wonderful example from my own life.

I’m not sure how it all began, but fear became a huge stronghold for me.  At that time, I did not know much about how to resist or receive deliverance from such things.  But we ended up having a mini-deliverance conference at our local church, and at one point, we were invited to come forward to be prayed with for deliverance from fear.  Instead of casting fear out of me, my pastor looked me straight in the eye and said, “Lee Ann, you are a woman of faith.”  It was about the last thing I would have expected anyone to say of me, but I felt a lightening, a release, inside.

Several months later, that same pastor said publicly to our congregation, “I want you to know that this is a woman of faith.”  And again, I felt something change inside.

Yet a third time, again months later, he spoke to me, “Lee Ann, you are a woman of faith.”  I asked him why he kept saying that to me, and he responded, “I am not being facetious.  You ARE a woman of faith.”  I still didn’t feel like one, but I felt more chains of fear fall off when he said it.  And I became what he spoke.  Each time that he purposefully said “woman of faith” over me, more fear left and more faith entered.  And the work inside continued long after those three incidents.  I became transformed over time – but I have always attributed the transformation to that pastor’s intentional speaking of what he was seeing and hearing from the Holy Spirit.

Positive words spoken in the anointing carry great spiritual weight, give life, and bear eternal fruit in the lives of others.

Next time we will begin talking about how to resist negative words coming at us from outside of ourselves.

Previous: Part 4 — Caution in Times of Temptation
Next: Resisting the Negative Words of Others (Part 1) 

OraclesCD
Speaking as the Oracles of God & Resisting Negative Words audio teaching (CD or mp3 download)

2 responses to “Speaking as the Oracles of God (Part 5)

  1. Pingback: Speaking as the Oracles of God (Part 4) « Out of the Fire

  2. Pingback: Resisting the Negative Words of Others (Part 1) « Out of the Fire

Leave a Reply

