Speaking as the Oracles of God (Part 3)

LeeAnnRubsam.com

Bringing Our Words into Alignment with God  

“If any man speak, let him speak as the oracles of God ….” (KJV)
“If anyone speaks, let it be as it were the very words of God….” (HNV)
–   1 Peter 4:11 

If we are going to “speak as the oracles of God,” we need to know His principles, His thoughts, His character.  I have said many times before that knowledge of Him and His ways comes primarily by immersing ourselves in His Word.  We cannot expect to accurately speak His words if we do not spend the time meditating in what He has already spoken.

And then we must align ourselves with His words by saying the same things He says.  When God has said something about us or others, for us to speak the opposite is sin.  So, He gives you a task, and you say, “But I can’t do that.”  Has He not already said in Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”?  You say, “I can’t succeed,” or, “I’m not sure I will make it through.”  Has He not also said, “In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us” (Romans 8:37)?  When we say the opposite of what God has already said, we destroy our faith, build walls of unbelief and doubt within, and literally assure our failure — because we have put ourselves out of alignment with Him.  It not only impedes us from living a fruitful Christian life; it also insults God and breaks His heart.

I used to frequently joke that I was a “spiritual pygmy.”  I thought it was sort of funny, but there were some real insecurity issues lying behind those words.  I felt inferior to others in my spiritual life, particularly in the prophetic gifts.  There came a day when I heard the Holy Spirit say quite emphatically, “I want you to stop saying that.”  I repented deeply.  But it wasn’t until much later that I realized I had been actively hindering myself in the very area of inferiority which I had been joking about — my ability to hear and see the things of God.  How much sooner I could have come into what God had for me, if I had only chosen to line up with God’s perspective, rather than putting myself down.

We must understand that there is no middle ground.  We are either aligning ourselves with the Lord of heaven and earth, or we are aligning ourselves with hell.  Sorry, but those are the cold hard facts.

When we tear either ourselves or others down with our words, we are uniting with Satan, the accuser of the brethren.  Revelation 12:10 says, “And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, ‘Now salvation has come, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accused them before our God day and night.’” 

Satan even dares to rail on us and accuse us before God Almighty!  When we deride our brothers and sisters, or complain and gossip about them, we are siding with the enemy.

When I was young in the Lord, there was some teaching going around that if we were angry with another person, we shouldn’t tell everybody around us, but it was A-OK to spew to God about the person, because He can handle it.  I think we have to watch that.  The devil accuses people to God.  I don’t think I want to do that.  There is a way to bring our people-troubles before the throne, and tell God something hurts or upsets us, without trashing the offender in the Lord’s ears.  He loves these people!  No matter how badly they have behaved (and He sees it all), it hurts Him to hear us speak in an unkind way about them.

Be careful to align yourself with God, not the enemy.

Previous: Part 2 — Prophetic Word or Analytical Assessment?
Next: Part 4 — Caution in Times of Temptation   

OraclesCD Speaking as the Oracles of God & Resisting Negative Words audio teaching (CD or mp3 download)

2 responses to “Speaking as the Oracles of God (Part 3)

  1. Pingback: Speaking as the Oracles of God (Part 2) « Out of the Fire

  2. Pingback: Speaking as the Oracles of God (Part 4) « Out of the Fire

Leave a Reply

