Of What Spirit Are We?

LeeAnnRubsam.com

…When the time was come that [Jesus] should be received up, he steadfastly set his face to go to Jerusalem, and sent messengers before him. The messengers went, and entered a village of the Samaritans, to make ready for him.  But the Samaritans did not receive him, because his face was as though he would go to Jerusalem. And when his disciples James and John saw this, they said, “Lord, do you want us to command fire to come down from heaven, and consume them, even as Elijah did?”  But Jesus turned, and rebuked them, and said, “You do not know what manner of spirit you are of.  For the Son of man has not come to destroy men’s lives, but to save them.”   — Luke 9:51-56

For some time, I’ve been troubled at the number of websites and blogs devoted solely to criticizing various brothers and sisters in the Christian apostolic/prophetic community.  Google the name of any well-known prophet, apostle, or revivalist, and you’ll find that the top ten sites are primarily run by people who feel their God-given mission in life is to expose the “heresy” of others.  Some are so obsessed with harassing and discrediting a particular person that it almost smacks of stalking.  Talk about having a “ministry” specialty! 

As I’ve said before, apostolic/prophetic Christianity is my particular circle.  I see the problems too, and there are times I get pretty perturbed.  Yes, some are teaching things that are not biblically supportable.  Yes, some are hiding sin.  A lot of housecleaning is needed, and I believe God is in the process of doing that.  He wants a pure and spotless Bride. 

But there is something more disturbing to me than doctrinal aberrations and high-profile sin.  It is the hardness of heart that causes Christians to think they can mock and curse other believers and not have a twinge of conscience in doing so.  It doesn’t matter if we agree with someone’s doctrine and mode of ministry or not.  The Lord Jesus has not given us permission to tear members of the Body of Christ apart.  Pointing the finger and screaming, “Heretic!” or licking our chops over the latest one to fall aligns us with an entirely different spirit than the Holy Spirit.  Revelation 12:10 describes Satan as “the accuser of our brethren … which accused them before our God day and night.” 

I’m not saying we should whitewash sin and doctrinal error.  They are a shame and a blot on the Body of Christ.  I am asking what spirit we are of — the spirit of hatred, anger, and criticalness? Or the spirit of mercy, humility, and godly sorrow when a brother sins?  Jesus was grieved with the Pharisees of His day for their lack of mercy and their prideful delusion that they were several notches above other people.  The Pharisaical spirit is alive and well in the Church today.  It is a spirit totally aligned with hell, not the righteous purity of the Holy Spirit. 

There is a better way to address the problems in Christianity today.  For those of us who teach, we can continue to patiently lay down biblical foundations and warn against pitfalls, so that those who truly want to do right can learn to move in life-giving, Spirit-filled patterns.  We don’t need to point fingers and name names in the process of bringing God’s people into maturity.  Let’s teach the principles, so that people can learn to discern between the good and the bad, while keeping our fingers to ourselves. 

And all of us can learn to mind our own business — spending our time in sober prayer and fasting, rather than wasting precious hours at Internet forums, blogs, and chat rooms, talking, talking, always talking, about the latest ministry flap or failure. 

Let’s encourage and build up one another, lifting each other out of the muck if any of us should fall.  The devil doesn’t need our help in beating up on the Body– but he’s more than happy to let us join hands with him if we want to.

LeeAnnRubsam.com

6 responses to “Of What Spirit Are We?

  1. LeeAnn,

    You are so correct and I am so glad to see your posting. I was beginning to think we who feel such as this are few and far between.

    The hardness of the Christian hearts today has astounded me. The harshness of their words do the same. I do not see it, when God Himself has so much mercy and love for us all. When He hung His Son on the Cross so He could look at us not through our sins, but through the Eyes of that Cross. His name is Jesus.

    I do not know if these are the last days or not, as only our Father knows the day and hour, and Jesus has been waited upon since the Apostles. But I know this, if it is not soon, may God protect and have mercy on us all.

    My heart is broken for those who are lacking in compassion and showing the love of our Lord. I am not saying at all to tolerate sin, but we all have it, regardless of how we like to think of ourselves. It feels like few believe that anymore.

    I just wanted to let you know there are those of us out here, who feel as you do, as sometimes it feels like a lonely road.

    Thanks for the post. God Bless

    Like

  2. Thanks for commenting! I think if we only knew how many people have decided against accepting Jesus because of the unloving way they have observed Christians acting toward each other, it would sober us into thinking twice before lashing out. Something has to change.

    Like

  3. I know something has to change, but I believe with all of my heart things have become so bad, that God is going to have to be the One to change all of this. He will when He gets ready.

    You know I had not been on a religious/Christian site in maybe 6-7 years. A few weeks back I was sick and bored so I thought I would go onto some sites and see what was going on, and I was as I said, astounded, on how things had changed in those few years.

    Our Lord is a Lord who answers the prayers of His faithful. All I know to do is pray and try to teach others that our Lord also has great mercy and love for all of us.

    God Bless

    Like

  4. LeeAnn,

    I have had a bad day today regarding the blogging and the Lord just lead me to you. I have been so beaten up until I am beaten down.

    There was a man who posted not believing in the Trinity which posted on my blog. He gave scripture and of course the wolf started in accusing him of heresy and the like, which I did not post and explained to the person why I did not post it. Of course that only enraged even more anger. So I took that, then was told I made them sick. Which was okay that does not bother me, as this person was so mean.

    Then the person I was trying to defend and I had just gotten the scripture together on the Trinity belief, wrote and said, because I am Catholic there was no need to go any further as we have so much false doctrine. Mind you I am a convert so I know both sides and respect both sides.

    LeeAnn what happened to our God of love in people? Where is it? What are those of us going to do that believe in this? You cannot open your mouth in kindness anymore without someone accusing you of being “soft” and not handling the things the way Jesus said to. It is breaking my heart.

    I do not know I just had to vent. I am in such amazement at this, so much I cannot stand it. I am not a Church I am a human being who worships God in a Church. The Bible says, “The members of the Church are called the Holy Ones.” Where is this holiness going in His children?

    Just needed some like I said to vent, and you are the only sane voice I could remember.

    God Help Us All

    Like

    • I guess we just have to remember that Jesus had harsh words spoken against Him, too. In John 15:18, 20, He said, “If the world hates you, you know that it hated me before it hated you. …The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you….”

      Christians who lacerate others like to point out that Jesus was not wishy-washy and that He really let the Pharisees have it. True, but not all the Pharisees all of the time. He was patient with Nicodemus, because He saw Nicodemus’ inquiring heart. It wasn’t the Pharisees He was harsh with; it was their unmerciful religious dogma. We need to differentiate between the two as well.

      Sometimes people’s love of their own opinion makes them forget love and honor for other people. There is a basic honor that should be given to all people, Christian or non-Christian, those who believe “rightly” or those who do not.

      Matthew 12:20, 21 quotes Isaiah’s prophecy of Jesus, “A bruised reed he shall not break, and smoking flax shall he not quench, until he sends forth judgment unto victory. And in his name shall the Gentiles trust.” The Gentiles — the outsiders — have come to trust Jesus because He takes people where they are at, loves them as He shows them the right way, and gave His very life for them while they were yet in sin. I think that should be our model as well.

      The Apostle Paul was never one to mince words or to whitewash sin, yet he said, “Let your speech be always with grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer everyone” (Colossians 4:6).

      I have been one in years gone by that would sometimes dash off unkind words because I had a strong belief and wanted to set others straight. But I have learned that wounding people for the sake of being right is never God’s way. We can stand for truth without trashing the people we disagree with.

      Like

  5. Lee Ann,

    Thank you so much for your kind words. They have been healin to my soul. My soul truly needed some healing.

    I to was full of condemnation at one time, but I learned like you for the sake of being right is not God’s way. Maybe that is what these people have to learn also.

    Thank you again, for rebuilding my strength to do what I feel God has called me to do.

    God Bless

    Like

Leave a Reply

