Dance with Me

LeeAnnRubsam.com

“Dance with me, O Lover of my soul, to the song of all songs.”  It’s a worship song that I am fond of.  Recently, I got to thinking about dancing. 

Christians are natural-born dancers.  You may be thinking, “Not me.  I have two left feet.”  But let me explain.  Those of us who read the Bible dance through God’s Word, and there are distinctly different ways we do it. 

There are the steady, methodical dancers, who read each verse carefully.  They don’t want to miss anything.  You never know, God might have a nugget hidden in the middle of those genealogies!  (I’m one of these, by the way.)  But methodical dancers just about go into cardiac arrest if the Holy Spirit whispers to skip over a few hundred pages and read something out of sequence for a time.

Spirit-led dancers follow where He leads.  They read in Daniel one day and Deuteronomy the next.  But some spend the next two years reading Psalms and nothing else, and their biblical balance is a little tipsy as a result.  (Maybe we aren’t all as Spirit-led as we think!)

Some of us, when we read, dance through the words laid out before us as if we’re on hot coals.  We become very uncomfortable as God puts His finger on areas of our lives that aren’t in line with Him, so we take a quick hop over the verse that bothers us and move on to safer territory.  It may even be a giant leap: “You know, I’m just not getting much out of James today.  I think I’ll go read Isaiah for awhile.  Isaiah always builds me up.”  After awhile, the hot coals dancer figures out where he’s most likely to get his feet burned and avoids that chapter or book altogether!  (After all, who ever said we had to read the whole book from Genesis to Revelation?)

Then there are the Christians who know how to do the victory dance.  They’re intensely serious about their dance moves.   They stand on the Word part of the time and swing it the rest of the time to accomplish the purposes of heaven.  They do “mighty exploits” like Daniel spoke of (Daniel 11:32). 

So, how do you dance through the Word?  Do you even read it?  And, are you dancing lightly to avoid the hot coals, or are you planting your feet firmly in a victory step?  Are you letting Holy Spirit lead — really lead — in the dance, or are you doing your own thing, all by yourself, and finding it’s kind of a drudge? 

Dance with Him through His Word.  Whatever method of steady reading you use, if you’re listening to Him and applying what He says, the dance will be awesome.  

LeeAnnRubsam.com

One response to “Dance with Me

  1. Tks LeeAnn, tonight I saw myself doing a war dance BUT I did not enter into the war dance. You see, sometimes you take in your surroundings or the mood and choose that it would be better NOT to dance that way. The victory dance, ahh yes, I do need to dance it more. If that is what the Spirit is showing, who am I to question why … Nike, just do it Scott. Anyway thanks for your writings and I have not forgotten the $10.50 … God bless you and your ministry to Him. Pastor Scott

    Like

Leave a Reply

