Just for Intercessors: Bearing the Stones (Part 12)

In Exodus 28:9-21 we read God’s instructions to Moses about two parts of the high priest’s apparel.  He was to bear two stones upon his shoulders, one on each side.  The names of six of the tribes of Israel were inscribed on one stone, and six on the other.  In addition, he was to wear a breastplate with twelve more stones attached, this time each stone inscribed with the name of one tribe.  As the high priest carried out his duties in the tabernacle, in a symbolic way he bore the people of Israel with him before the Lord.  Verse 12 says, “… Aaron shall bear their names before the LORD upon his two shoulders for a memorial.”  It was a symbolic type of what intercessors do when they carry others before the throne.

I had never thought about this until, one day, the Lord brought it to my attention.  My pastor and his wife were very much on my mind, even though I needed to pray about some other things right then.  I said, “Lord, You know that even when I am not specifically praying for them, I carry Pastor _______ and ________ into the throne room with me.  They’re always with me, and I want to constantly remind You of them.”  Immediately, the high priest bearing the stones with the engraved names upon his shoulders came to mind.  I then remembered that in my early days as an intercessor, a prophet had prayed for me that I would have strong shoulders to bear the weight of the intercessions I would someday carry.  For quite a few days after, whenever I went to prayer, I “saw” myself coming before the throne with the high priest’s stones upon my shoulders, and I understood how important my intercessions really are.

It was sometime down the road from that revelation that God spoke to me about the stones on the high priest’s breastplate, and that not only did I bear my pastor and his wife upon my shoulders, but upon my heart as well.  Having the priestly calling to bear those we are interceding for upon our hearts is the reason why we love the ones we pray for so dearly.

As an added thought on an entirely different line, I have an idea that the reason that Jesus said, “Pray for those who despitefully use you and persecute you” (Matthew 5:44), was because He knew that we can’t help but love those we pray for.

This wraps up the Just for Intercessors series.  I hope that you have found something here that will be useful to you or that will confirm what you have already personally learned from the Lord.  If you have any questions, comments, or additional insights, I’d love to hear from you.

Previous: The Pastor Specialty (Part 11) 

NewIntMan100

Excerpted from Lee Ann’s book, The Intercessor Manual

 

 

3 responses to “Just for Intercessors: Bearing the Stones (Part 12)

  1. Marina Silva Croome

    Dear sister in Christ,

    As you believe in the power of prayer and know the Lord’s heart to see His people gathered in Spirit to pray…I want to extend to you an invitation.

    My name is Marina Silva Croome. I’m part of the organization of the 8th Celebration and Intercession Night for America, where, during the whole night of October 31st the body of Christ all around our continent will come together in Spirit to pray for restoration and revival.

    The event’s vision is to raise worship and intercession altars in every country of the American continent, joined in Spirit, to call upon His name. We believe the promise of the Lord in 2 Chro 7:14 that says that if His people will humble themselves and pray and seek His face and turn from their wicked ways, He will hear us from heaven and will forgive our sin and will heal our land.

    It does not matter whether we are thousands gathered in a stadium or just a bunch kneeled in a room in each country… because God is calling those who are willing to humble themselves before Him….and He is looking for His people in every country of our continent!

    If you feel the Lord’s call to be part of this event, get in touch with me as soon as possible and I will give you more information.

    May God take you deeper in His love

    Marina Silva Croome
    Buenos Aires, Argentina

    Like

  2. Pingback: Just for Intercessors: The Pastor Specialty (cont.) (Part 11) « Out of the Fire

  3. Thank you so much for sharing such wisdom. Another characteristic of the true intercessor is that of unselfishness with spiritual wisdom. Sharing Spiritual wisdom leads others to a clearer understanding of the happenings in the throne room.

    Like

Leave a Reply

