The Power of Your Prayer Language (Part 3)

Last time we talked a little about the personal benefits that come with praying in tongues, especially to our physical bodies.  Today, I’d like to address what it does for our minds and emotions (our soul).

When our spirit-man becomes strong, through being in communion with the Holy Spirit, our mind follows suit.  Our spirit, soul, and body are very integrally connected with each other.  Doctors have known for a long time that people with spiritual problems often develop mental or physical illnesses, while those who are spiritually healthy tend to be mentally and physically well also.  It is the principle set forth in 3 John 2: Beloved, I wish above all things that you may prosper and be in health, just as your soul prospers.

Romans 12:2 tells us, “Be transformed by the renewing of your mind ….”  Communicating spirit-to-Spirit with God through our prayer language is one of the best ways to renew our minds.  We tend to think like those with whom we spend time in intimate communication.  Praying in our prayer language – especially if we train ourselves to do it a lot – will lead us into taking on the thought processes of God.  It renews our mind to think like God thinks.  The more we pray in tongues, the less our thinking will be stinking.

The lining up of our mind with our spirit through praying in tongues brings us peace and helps us respond more kindly to people.  I stumbled upon this truth rather accidentally a few decades ago while working at an office job that was extremely stressful.  I found that when I quietly prayed throughout my workday in my prayer language, I was more tranquil, lighthearted, able to cope with difficult situations and equally difficult people, and more grace-filled to be kind in my responses to those around me.  It was the influence of the Holy Spirit continually flowing through me, as I prayed in tongues.  (I was discreet about praying under my breath, and not when it would have been observable by others.  It would not have been a good witness if people had seen me constantly muttering to myself, as though I had lost my marbles!)

Praying in tongues gives us orderliness of mind.  God is an orderly Being.  As we commune with Him, and thereby become like Him, we become orderly as well.  If you have trouble with confusion in your mind, praying in tongues will bring order to your thoughts.  “For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace …” (1 Corinthians 14:33).

I’m discovering a pattern as I talk with Christians who struggle with fear, doubt, unbelief, confusion, and negative thoughts about themselves and others.  If I ask, “Do you pray in tongues much?” the answer is consistently, “no.” Do yourself a favor: use your prayer language to kill the “stinking thinking.”

Next time: Why your prayer language is a spiritual weapon.

Previous: The Power of Your Prayer Language (Part 2)
Next: The Power of Your Prayer Language (Part 4) 

 

Excerpted from Lee Ann’s book, The Intercessor Manual

 

 

The Baptism in the Spirit: Why You Need It & How to Get It, by Lee Ann Rubsam (CD or mp3)

2 responses to “The Power of Your Prayer Language (Part 3)

  1. Pingback: The Power of Your Prayer Language (Part 2) « Out of the Fire

  2. Pingback: The Power of Your Prayer Language (Part 4) « Out of the Fire

Leave a Reply

