Catching Up on a Few Things

leeannrubsam.com

It’s been a while since I posted, and I thought I would catch up on a few thoughts.  I am a home school mom with a teenager, an author/publisher, and a freelance writer, so that keeps me pretty busy, and it’s often hard to find time to write all the things I’d like to.  Far above all the writing though, I live to intercede.  Some of the books I write and publish address the things I’ve learned about prayer and intercession.  These can be found at our publishing web site, Full Gospel Family Publications.

Intercession is what makes me tick, and it’s where many hours each day are invested.  My particular bent is praying for my pastor and his wife.  I’ve been their intercessor for about eight years now, and I’ve come to understand during that time that this is a life-long calling.  I treasure it, and I treasure them.

I hope to do a series of blogs in days to come about the gift of tongues — why it is important, how to use it effectively in intercession, and I may even hit on the tiresome subject of whether it is still Scriptural to pray in tongues or whether it is “of the devil.”  (Ewww.  I can’t believe we are still wrangling on this one in the Body of Christ.)

 Months ago, I did a series of blogs on my personal journey in Soaking Prayer.  Now that I’m done rambling, I’d like to follow up on that a bit.

The Final Episode in Lee Ann’s Soaking Prayer Journey!

I mentioned way back when that I was going to read James Goll’s book, The Lost Art of Practicing His Presence, which is about contemplative prayer (another name for soaking prayer).  I read it, and it wasn’t on my wavelength.  Great book, just not for me.

I’ve really ceased to be concerned about soaking.  I spend time with the Lord the way it has always worked for me, without worrying anymore about whether I’m doing it “right.”  I spend a lot of time in worshipful intercession.  I ask God questions throughout that time, and listen for His answers.  My times with God are often conversational.  Sometimes I just lift my heart heavenward and adore Him.  Whether I’m worshipping or heavily interceding, I expect that He will reveal to me whatever I need to know.  He speaks as I pray in my prayer language, He speaks as I ask questions, He speaks at moments when I’m not expecting Him to — but I’ve got my ear tuned toward Him at all times.

As far as the heavenly visions which people promised as a result of soaking prayer, I quit being frustrated about that, too.  I probably “see” more now that I’m not obsessing about it.  It just happens when it needs to, not because I’m trying to make it happen.  (This should have been a no-brainer, but sometimes I make life harder than it has to be.)  I’ll probably always be more of a hearer than a seer, but I am seeing more.  The key was just to relax, relax, relax, and don’t worry about it.  I also don’t worry a lick about being “caught up” into visions of what heaven looks like.  If it ever happens, good.  If it doesn’t, also good.  It’s up to the Holy Spirit, and I don’t think about it anymore.

So, after making the journey, here’s my suggestion for anyone else out there who is trying to figure out the whole soaking prayer thing: if it helps you to get more tuned in to God, and you like doing it, go for it.  If you are frustrated as all get-out with trying to soak, leave it alone.  Find what works for you to get close to the Lord.  Just don’t obsess about it.  God wants us to enjoy Him and spend time with Him, whatever method works best for each of us.  He’s got a way tailor-made for every individual.  Just relax and let Him show you the way.

Purchase at Amazon: The Lost Art of Practicing His Presence

2 responses to “Catching Up on a Few Things

  1. Another great series – I can really relate. I certainly can’t articulate the way you do – but my thought processes are similar. So here’s another “thanks so much” to you, and may God continue to bless and use you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

