The LORD God … Before Whom I Stand (Part 2)

Yesterday I talked a little about Elijah’s intimate relationship with God being a “throne room experience.”  It was in the throne room, where he stood before the Lord, that Elijah received how to pray, what to decree, and the powerful answers to those prayers and decrees.  Today, we’ll take a closer look at what it means to “stand before the Lord.”

What is standing before the Lord like? In detail, what is involved? I have pondered these questions a great deal, and I believe the Lord has given me some understanding on the subject:

1.)
  It is standing at attention before Him in His throne room as His servant,
a.) watching for the least gesture of His hand or the least eye contact,
b.) knowing what He wants and moving to do it.

This requires an acute sensitivity to Him. Psalm 123:2Behold, as the eyes of servants look unto the hand of their masters, and as the eyes of a  maiden unto the hand of her mistress; so our eyes wait upon the LORD our God ….

2.) It means having face-to-face relationship with God (intimacy).

3.)  It means to be one who is invited into His war council room, to take counsel with Him for His strategies.

4.)  It is a place of honor, and is not to be taken casually. Although it is every believer’s potential privilege, not everyone achieves this kind of intimacy with the Lord.  It is not an easy place to come into. It requires a total abandon of all self into the Lord’s hands. It involves painful refining at His hand.

I began to wonder just how close to God Elijah stood. Was he standing at a distance in a massive palace, just one attendant among thousands and thousands, waiting his turn and hoping to be noticed and called upon? At first glance this may seem like a foolish question, but since I desired to stand before the Lord like Elijah did, I desperately wanted to know how close I could get! As I pondered my question, God simply spoke to me, “Put your hand in Mine.” Mentally I obeyed, putting my hand in the hand of the King on the throne. And then He quietly said, “This is how it is.” I suddenly understood what Elijah had experienced. He did not receive his revelation in an impersonal manner from the Lord. He took the hand of the King, gazed intently into His eyes, and they communed over the plans of God. Awesome! It was an entirely new idea for me. It has revolutionized my intercessory prayer life.

Notice that Elijah never said, “As the LORD God of Israel lives, before whom I have stood.” His words were, “As the LORD God of Israel lives, before whom I stand.” It is always a present tense expression of his relationship with his God. I believe that Elijah not only phrased it in the present tense; he lived a present tense experience of continually being in the throne room. That is where God wants to take modern-day believers as well. It is possible to come to the place of being so continually in the Lord’s Presence, that it is as though we never step out of the throne room. We commune constantly with the King of Kings. I’m not there yet, but I’m convinced that that’s what God desires – here on earth, not just after we die. It’s a goal to reach for, to hunger after, to get as near to as we possibly can.

So, where do we start? Once again, it is the way of the Diligent Seeker — “… he is a rewarder of those who diligently seek him.” (Hebrews 11:6) I’m on my way. Would you like to come along?

Previous: The LORD God … Before Whom I Stand (Part 1)

Lee Ann’s book, Before Whom We Stand: The Everyman’s Guide to the Nature of God

BeforeWhomWeStandsm

  Full Gospel Family Publications

Character Building for Families

One response to “The LORD God … Before Whom I Stand (Part 2)

  1. Yes, I’m coming! It’s always refeshing to find a blog that considers face-to-face intimacy with Jesus to be the treasure of all treasures. “That I may know him…” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

